Depending upon the source Help Desk involved in the migration it is possibly that some of the integrity rules enforced by Zendesk have not been adhered to in the data to be migrated.
Since these rules are also enforced by the Zendesk API utilized by the Migration Utility, any Tickets that break these rules will be rejected during the migration unless the data is fixed.
However, when using the Migration Utility to migrate directly from the source Help Desk it is often the case that there isn't an opportunity to fix the data before running the migration.
Therefore, in order to avoid the unnecessary loss of Tickets and other information during a migration, it is possible to set a number of configuration parameters that instruct the Migration Utility on how to resolve some of the most common data integrity issues.
Create Default User/Group Import Settings
It is possible to configure a number of parameters to be used in the event that the source data contains missing or invalid data pertaining to the use of Users and Groups when running a migration.
A set of these policies can be created and stored and reused for each of the Zendesk accounts involved in migrations as follows:
- From within the main/home page for the Migration Utility select the POLICIES tab
- Select "<Add new>" from the Target combo box
- Enter the url that corresponds to that to be used during the migration (see Running the Migration Utility)
- Enter a valid email address to be used as the Ticket Requester in cases in which the Requester is missing or invalid in the source data
- Enter a valid email address to be used as the Agent in cases in which the Ticket Assignees is missing or invalid in the source data
- Enter the name of a Group to be used when creating the Ticket should the Group be missing or Invalid for a Ticket in the source data
- Select the Add button to commit the form and save the polices for the specified Zendesk account (3)
Once created, these polices will be used to fix exceptions (rather than simply rejecting Tickets) whenever running a migration that involves an import into the specified Zendesk account (3).
Select "<Add new>" from the Target combo box (2) to create and store policies for additional Zendesk accounts.
*Note: these policies will be applied to all migrations involving the specified Zendesk account. To prevent use of these polices it is necessary to delete them (see Update Policies for Existing Zendesk Accounts below)
Opt to Reject Creation of Tickets with Invalid Users
By default, even if the policies aren't set to use and alternative user when an invalid or missing Requester is encountered, the Zendesk API will still import the Ticket as created by the submitter, but without a direct link to a Requester user object.
This might occur during the migration as a result of the user creation failing because the search index has yet to identify the user and under these circumstance the user might be created successfully by re-applying failed updates.
As such it might be more desirable to force the failure of the Ticket creation until a subsequent restart, or so the data can be corrected and the failed Tickets imported as part of a subsequent migration.
- In order to achieve this, check the "Skip Tickets" checkbox - this will disable the other form fields and override any previous policy values set for the specified Zendesk account
- Select the "Update" button to commit the form and save the policy changes
Now whenever running a migration into the specified Zendesk account, any invalid or missing Requesters or Assignees will cause the creation of the associated Ticket to fail
Update or Delete Policies for Existing Zendesk Accounts
Having created and stored the policies for a Zendesk account it is possible to update the parameters or delete the policy completely.
- From within the main/home page for the Migration Utility select the POLICIES tab
- Select the name of the Zendesk account from the Target combo box
- The parameters stored for the Zendesk account will be retrieved and presented in the form to enable changes
- Select the Update button to commit the form and store any changes
- If required select the Delete button to remove the policies for the specified Zendesk account and prevent any further use during migrations
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.