Due to the nature of data migrations and the volumes of information involved it can often take a considerable amount of elapsed time to complete the operation.
As such there is a possibility or risk that events could occur causing the operation to abort, e.g. lost availability of the target Zendesk account due to maintenance or unexpected outages.
Under these circumstances it is possible to recover the migration from the point at which the operation failed, without the need to clean out and restart from the beginning.
If your migration has aborted before successful completion, restart and complete the migration as follows:
- From within the main/home page for the Migration Utility ensure the ACTIONS tab is open and select the option to Restart the last Import
- Complete the credentials for the failed migration if not already present
- Select the Restart button to invoke the operation
The Migration Utility will determine if the most recent migration executed against this Zendesk account failed to complete successfully and if so will identify the point at which the last successful transaction completed.
Once located the migration will restart from the point of failure and the remainder of the import will be shown on the progress page (see Monitoring the Progress of an Import).
*Note: if any update failures have occurred during the migration these will be ignored at this time and the import will first recover to the point of failure and complete the migration. The once the migration has completed it will be necessary to restart the import again in order to reapply the failed updates (see Reapplying Failed Updates).
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.